FacebookTwitterGoogleYoutubePinterest
facebooktwittergoogleyoutubepinterest
Menu buttons for teachers, group visitors and resellers Information for Teachers Information for group visitors Information for Reseller
Search
Active language: English
Umschalten zur deutschen Version

Welcome to Berlin's interactive museum!

Providing an exceptional museum experience, the DDR Museum is one of the most-visited museums in Berlin. Three factors combine to make it unique.

1. THE DDR MUSEUM SHOWS EVERYDAY LIFE IN THE GDR

The only museum in Berlin to focus on everyday life in the former East Germany, the DDR Museum widens the conventional focus away from the Stasi and the Berlin wall to encompass  everyday life. How did life in East Germany differ from the experience of West Germans? How did the state influence people's lives? Where did citizens feel the hand of the dictatorship? What, if anything, was good about the GDR? What is the truth behind popular prejudices and stories about life in East Germany? The permanent exhibition of the DDR Museum addresses all these questions in a light-hearted and often ironic fashion. The cultural history approach to these questions concentrates its focus on ordinary people; in doing so, this museum about the GDR does a lot more than just outlining the facts.

2. A HANDS-ON EXPERIENCE OF HISTORY IN BERLIN'S INTERACTIVE MUSEUM

True to its slogan: "a hands-on experience of history," the DDR Museum provides stimulation for all the senses. Entering a reproduction high-rise tower block housing estate built on the scale 1:20, visitors are invited to open cupboards, rummage through drawers, drive a Trabi simulator and touch and feel a number of exhibits. The kitchen even exudes the original GDR smell. The usual museum experience of looking and reading is supplemented by a full-on sensual experience, making the DDR Museum perhaps one the most interactive museum in the world.

3. THE DDR MUSEUM IS ENTIRELY SELF-FINANCING AND DOES NOT RECEIVE ANY STATE SUBSIDY

The DDR Museum does not receive any form of state or third-party funding. Financing its operations entirely from entrance fees, our popularity means that not only are we able to cover all our costs, but have created more than 30 jobs. Our success led us to extend our permanent exhibition, opening a second room in 2010. This extension was nominated for the European Museum of the Year prize in 2012.

 

1. Museum by night

2. Nomination as European Museum of the Year

3. Presentation of the saved mural "Praise of communism"

Eingang DDR-Museum Berlin
Welcome to Berlin's interactive museum!Welcome to Berlin's interactive museum!

Facebook Twitter Google Youtube Pinterest
facebooktwittergoogleyoutubepinterest
Menü für Lehrer, Gruppenbesucher und Wiederverkäufer Informationen für Lehrer und Pädagogen Information für Gruppenbesucher Informationen für Wiederverkäufer
Suchen
Aktive Sprache: Deutsch
Switch to the english version

Willkommen in einem der interaktivsten Museen der Welt!

Das DDR Museum ist ein einzigartiges und außergewöhnliches Museum und eines der meistbesuchten Museen Berlins. Drei Faktoren unterscheiden das Museum von allen anderen Museen.

1. Das DDR Museum zeigt den Alltag in der DDR

Das DDR Museum widmet sich als einziges Museum dem Leben in der ehemaligen DDR und erweitert das Blickfeld der Aufarbeitung damit von Stasi und Mauer um den Alltag in der DDR. Wie hat sich das Leben vom Leben im Westen unterschieden? Wie hat der Staat das Leben der Menschen beeinflusst? Wo war die Diktatur im Alltag spürbar? Was sind die so oft aufgezählten positiven Errungenschaften der DDR und sind diese wirklich positiv? Und haben die Vorurteile aus Filmen und Anekdoten ihre Richtigkeit oder sind diese grundfalsch? Auf amüsante und ironische Weise werden diese Fragen in der Dauerausstellung aufgeworfen und beantwortet. Der gewählte kulturhistorische Blickwinkel ist nah dran am Menschen und geht weit über eine reine Aufzählung der historischen Fakten hinaus.

2. Geschichte zum Anfassen in Berlins interaktivem Museum

Die Dauerausstellung nimmt das Motto „Geschichte zum Anfassen" wörtlich: Sie betreten eine Plattenbausiedlung im Maßstab 1:20 und müssen dabei alle Ihre Sinne mitnehmen. Informationen und Exponate verbergen sich in Schubladen, in Schränken und hinter Türen. Überall gibt es etwas zu entdecken, zu berühren, zu erleben. Die Exponate können angefasst und benutzt werden, die Küche riecht noch original nach DDR, der Trabi lädt zur virtuellen Rundfahrt ein. Das aus normalen Museen bekannte Dogma des Schauens mit den Augen wird zu einem Sinn unter vielen, den Sie benutzen müssen - die Ausstellung wird zu einem Erlebnis, das DDR Museum zum vielleicht interaktivsten Museum der Welt.

3. Das DDR Museum finanziert sich selbst ganz ohne Steuergelder

Das DDR Museum verzichtet auf Steuergelder und jede weitere Art von Fördergeldern. Es finanziert sich und seine Aktivitäten ausschließlich durch die Besucher. Diese bewusste Entscheidung für ein Experiment sichert inzwischen mehr als 30 Arbeitsplätze. 2010 erfolgte aufgrund der großen Nachfrage nach vier Jahren eine aufwändige Erweiterung der Dauerausstellung, welche 2012 eine erneute Nominierung als Europäisches Museum des Jahres nach sich zog.

1. Das Museum bei Nacht

2. Das Depot des DDR Museum

3. Das Besucherzentrum

Eingang DDR-Museum Berlin
Willkommen in einem der interaktivsten Museen der Welt!Willkommen in einem der interaktivsten Museen der Welt!